Return to her roots with Day Breaks album out Oct 7


Norah Jones has announced the October 7 global release of Day Breaks (Blue Note Records/Virgin EMI), her stunning sixth solo album which is a kindred spirit to the singer’s breakout debut Come Away With Me and finds the 9-time GRAMMY-winner returning to the piano and her roots. The album features jazz luminaries including her Blue Note label mates saxophonist Wayne Shorter, organist Dr. Lonnie Smith, and drummer Brian Blade on a 12-song set that presents 9 new originals alongside covers of songs by Horace Silver, Duke Ellington and Neil Young.

“This new album feels full circle because I'm going back to my early influences," says Norah. "After the first record, I drifted away from the piano a little bit. I still played it, but was more inspired to write on guitar. I really loved playing piano on this record.”

“Norah Jones has a way of being there when you need her…a warm, honeyed voice, right up against your ear, AutoTune-free and honest.” BOSTON GLOBE

Watch the video for "Carry On," the album's first single which features Norah’s signature piano sound:

Fans who pre-order the download of Day Breaks on the Norah Jones Store, iTunes or Amazon will receive "Carry On" instantly, and the single is also on all streaming services including Apple Music and Spotify. Day Breaks is available for pre-order in all formats at the Norah Jones Store and Amazon. A special 180-gram orange vinyl version of the album will also be available, as well as a deluxe CD version featuring 4 live bonus tracks.

“Norah Jones has a way of being there when you need her… a warm, honeyed voice, right up against your ear, AutoTune-free and honest,” wrote the Boston Globe in a rave review of Norah’s first-ever Newport Jazz Festival performance this past Saturday in front of the festival’s first sold-out audience in over 25 years. Norah also became only the 4th artist in history to perform at both the Newport Folk and Jazz festivals in the same year.

Norah plays a sold out show at the iconic London Palladium

14/11/16 – Palladium – London, UK – SOLD OUT

The track listing for Day Breaks is as follows:

1. Burn
2. Tragedy
3. Flipside
4. It's A Wonderful Time For Love
5. And Then There Was You
6. Don’t Be Denied
7. Day Breaks
8. Peace
9. Once I Had A Laugh
10. Sleeping Wild
11. Carry On
12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

APB uses Starfile to keep our press contacts up to date with all our artists' news, gigs and more. Download photos and press releases, make and track review ticket, photopass and interview requests any time by creating an account. It's quick, easy and personalised to you.